Daisy NMR award - Awardees 2023

Daisy NMR award - Awardees 2023

The cOpenNMR facility is very happy to announce the three winners of the second edition of the Daisy NMR award. Janina K. Dahmen, Lisa Konrad and Savvina Leontakianaku were selected from a pool of great applications for their outstanding projects.

Savvina -  our first Daisy awardee form outside KU - is a PhD student at the Department of Biotechnology at Lund University. Her project aims at using NMR spectroscopy to investigate complex Xylan oligosaccharides from different sources and determine the branching pattern.

Lisa, from the Depatment of Plant and Environmental Sciences, is investigating a putative Microtubule associated protein (MAP) from Arabidopsis Thaliana and wants to use NMR to structurally characterize the protein and its interaction with microtubules.

Janina, from the Department of Drug Design and Pharmacology, has established an enzymatic assay to follow the hydrolysis of N-Acetyl aspartate by Aspartoacylase (ASPA) using real time 1D-1H NMR spectra. This assay enabled her to show that cyclic peptide binders could restore the funcion of an unstable ASPA mutant.

Birthe B. Kragelund is applauding the three winners of the 2023 cOpenNMR Daisy Award: Savvina Leontakianaki, Lisa Konrad and Janina Dahmen (from left to right).